Something magic happened

JoseEspinosa

Blues Newbie
Hello all. My Name is Jose Espinosa and I've been noodling on guitar for over 20 years never progressing beyond simple chord strumming and learning a few licks. I have always struggled getting the "feel" of a song. Ive had private lessons, watched YouTube videos but never really progressed. My fingers move well enough, I could transition between chords just fine. I can follow tab. But still never nailed the feel of a song. Then I started with Griff right with beginning blues guitar. As you all know he REALLY stresses counting and timing. I listened and began counting during my practice., one and two... one and uh two... and something magic happened. My playing began to have feel. Ive been working on playing Scotty Moore's mystery train for 2 years on and off and never managed the train feel of that song. Last night I sat and counted and the train rhythm appeared under my fingers. I was a little shocked. the alternating bass line was bang on and the fill notes right there. I went back through my books and videos of songs I failed to learn.. and they came to me. It was like magic. His lessons taught me something so fundamental. Im so glad I'm here and grateful for Griff's easy way of teaching.

JohnHurley

Rock and Roll
Dang man send me some of that magic! Please please!

Seriously though a great post and like you I have been getting a lot better this year at counting. One of the Mikes here ( I think Mike S ) says a lot "you need to count until you don't need to count" ...

Try getting that magic with the original BB King "The Thrill is Gone" maybe?

The counting helps a whole bunch when playing rhythm and strumming songs also. It allows you to jump in and out on various counts.

If ONLY the Griff guy had ever mentioned the importance of counting how shocking that we have to figure it out on our own.