Amp settings

KSmith8849

Blues Newbie
:question I am new to BGU and don't know my way around the forum
sorry if I put this in the wrong place.
I have a 80s era Fender Stage lead amp and am looking for some help on how I should set it :question

CapnDenny1

Student Of The Blues
The standard starting point for Fender amps is to set everything to 6.  Except the reverb which I like around a 2 or 3 on my '73 Princeton Reverb.  Your amp has a few more knobs, but it really depends on what your tastes are.

If you could describe what kind of sound you are wanting to get that would help.  That amp has gain available and clean as well.  Do you want a lot of grit, or a clean Fender chime, or maybe just a hint of grit to make it a bit more bluesey, but not full on rock n roll?

If you could describe what you're after, then it would make it easier for people to advise on what to set where, but start with 6's.

snarf

making guitars wish they were still trees
The standard starting point for Fender amps is to set everything to 6...
What he said.

Set your Clean volume to a reasonable level.  For instance, at home, I've got a couple amps that never get turned much past 2 or the neighbors a street over could hear me.  Then set everything else to 6-ish, and start fiddling from there until you find a sound you like.  Once you get a clean sound you like then add in your Gain/Drive to get the amount of grit and buzz that you like.

CapnDenny1

Student Of The Blues
For your reading pleasure.

http://tinydemonz.wordpress.com/2013/03/15/under-the-spotlight-fender-stage-lead-amplifier-1980s/

The clean channel is just that clean.

Channel 2 you have gain and master volume.  Basically the gain is what adds distortion to the sound.  It also makes it louder, so you have the master volume there to lower the volume to where you want it.