Need techie help

daveg

Blues Newbie
I'm not sure if I'm posting this in the proper spot but I need some guidance in the area of recording. (Right now I'm a complete novice). I want to be able to lay down a bass track, a rhythm track - maybe a keyboard track, and use it as an accompaniment track for a vocalist, so I will be able to play along noodling out some lead here and there. Need to be able to transfer it to a CD or an MP3 player. Suggestions would be welcomed. :) Would a program like Audacity accomplish that and what do I need to interface between the guitar and computer? Or is there another better way. Thanks and  Happy playing ladies and gentlemen!

Steve G

St. Simons Island, GA
Dave, there are lots of options.  A lot of folks use Audacity along with an interface such as Line 6 UX1 or UX2, or a Fender Mustang amp.  You would connect the interface to your computer via a USB cable & lay down your recording on Audacity which will give you multiple tracks to record to.

I've got both UX2 and a Fender Mustang I amp & I use both for recording.  I use Ableton software(comes free with UX2 or the Mustang amp) instead of Audacity as I think it's a bit more versatile, but either will work.

There are many other options & a lot more info down in th "Recording Tips & Tricks" section of the forum.

Jon3b

Blues Newbie