Something I'd like you to try

MikeS

Student Of The Blues
Staff member
I may have found just the thing to help you build the strength in your thumb, which should help you with your barre chords. I've been working on Brown Sugar from the My TwangyGuitar link that someone posted. Brown Sugar
I've been playing chords for 35-40 years so I thought that I had built up a pretty good thumb muscle. Well after to or three days of playing the intro to this song,I can definitely say my thumb is stronger.
I was wondering if this would help newer players. You have to play barre chords in it, but because (and here's the catch) you HAVE to tune to an open G (Dead Guy Dead Guy Bad Dog-654321) (Marty Schwartz has a pretty cool way to easily tune to G - Marty's Tuning Guide ), half the barre chords are one finger chords (I sometimes use my middle finger crossed over my index finger , but I try not to). I think that if you like the Stones even just a little, this is going to sound so cool to you that, like me, you're gonna play it till your finger aches. All you really need to play is the first few bars over and over.

I was hoping that someone who's having trouble with barre chords would try this out, and let the rest of us know if this helps. Don't worry about how it sounds at first, because you have to bounce between a single finger barre and a 3 finger barre chord, so the 3 finger one will give you fits at first.
Any way sorry for being so long winded. Give it a try I'm pretty sure that in a few days you will be shocked at how much better your barre chords are.

Rue

Blues Newbie
Thanks Mike....actually I don't have any trouble with barr chords but I have been using those for a long time before getting Griff's courses.   I did enjoy that BROWN SUGAR  site...cool song.

Ray_UK

Blues Newbie
I like the idea of this Mike, my barre chords are improving but I could use another exercise, especially one that sounds cool.