Solo #1 : At Last (2 Years Later)

Paleo

Student Of The Blues
I gave up on this course over 2 years ago. I moved on to Major/Minor Blues scales 'cause it seemed less daunting. Then I did 5 Easy & 5 More Easy Blues solos. Now I'm in the middle of Griff's February challenge. I'm doing pretty well there, so yesterday I decided to take a break and tackle this solo again.

This is the result. What a difference time and hard work can make.

I most sincerely thank all of you who have supported me and made positive comments to all of my posted solos from those previous courses, as well as to my posts on other forums.

https://www.4shared.com/mp3/gZGK5-5Wce/SBS_Solo_1.html

Peace

OG_Blues

Guitar Geezer
Paleo,
Too bad there isn't more activity down here in SBS.
I have recently admitted to myself that I am just a terrible student - I have no patience. Going through SBS, when I saw the every chord is one concept, and that resonated with me, I skipped right to solo 6.
In doing so, I skipped over a lot of good stuff in the first 5 solos I am sure - I really need to go back and go through them too. You have inspired me to do that - thanks!
I also need to revisit solo 6 after some technique improvement.
Tom

Paleo

Student Of The Blues
In doing so, I skipped over a lot of good stuff in the first 5 solos I am sure - I really need to go back and go through them too. You have inspired me to do that - thanks!

I'm also going back to BGU, which I gave up on after Solos 1 & 2. I just posted BGU Solo 3 yesterday.

The way I look at it, you learn things when you are ready for them, whether that's mentally, physically, emotionally, etc.
Trying to force yourself before you are ready will only lead to frustration.

For whatever reason I had to take a 2 year detour through Major/Minor, 5 Easy, 5 More Easy, Theory Made Easy, Pentatonic Mastery and half of Acoustic Blues before I was ready to go back and tackle SBS and even BGU, which I started over 3 years ago.