Rob from Brooklyn NY

RobertJohann

Blues Newbie
Hi everyone and I’m pretty new at this so bare with me. I’m doing the Griffs Guitar Theory Made Easy course which I find is great. However, I’m up to lesson 10 which is What Key Is This In and unfortunately I’m kind
of lost. I know Griff is doing a great job with this course but somehow I’m kind of lost on this lesson. I’m just must be missing something. Can anyone lend a hand so that I can understand it better. I hope I’m doing this right and this message gets through. Ok thanks everyone. Rob

jmin

Student Of The Blues
Hey, Rob! Welcome! I've been working on Griff's GTMU course, so I may be able to help, but if not, there are plenty "theory" gurus around to answer just about any question you might have. And if they can't, Griff will eventually get to it.
For a "Forum" tip, you have placed this post in the "Introduce Yourself" forum, where folks just typically say hello and tell a little about themselves.
It's not wrong to ask questions, but for specific course questions, like "Guitar Theory Made Useful," it's usually better to put the question in that forum. In this case, since GTMU is a "smaller course," you'll actually use the "Everything Else" forum.
I'll look for your questions in the other forum! Good luck!

artyman

Fareham UK
Hi and welcome from one of the UK mob, great bunch on her with plenty of advice and encouragement, so make yourself at home.

steve o

Student Of The Blues
Welcome to the forum Rob, it’s awesome having you with us! As far as your theory question, you should get a lot of responses from people on this forum that can help you. Unfortunately, I’m not one of them(n):(

CaptainMoto

Blues Voyager
Welcome Rob,
I'm a terrible student so, If I took that course, I forgot what it tells you.
I'll offer up a very simple concept though:

Most blues are in a 1, 4, 5 chord progression.
The first chord played in the progression is the 1 chord.