Recording of Solo #4 -- Wow!

Steely Glen

I been down so long, down don't bother me.
I've been working on solo #4 for literally 4 months. After laboring my way through each lick and piecing it together, I finally sat down to record it in its entirety this weekend. I feel like I have it 90% under my fingers, but I can't seem to play it that well all the way through...especially when the red light is on.

Nonetheless, here's where I am with solo #4: https://soundcloud.com/jr-harris1/blues-guitar-unleashed-solo-4. I definitely flubbed a few of the licks, especially the faster ones, but I pretty happy with where I am. This is the hardest piece of soloing I've ever taken on, but I'm moving on to solo #5 and will revisit this one is a month or two.

I gotta be honest, solo #4 almost made me throw in the towel on BGU 2.0, but I made it through!

jmin

Student Of The Blues
Congratulations, Steely!!! That was very good! Like others have said, I think this could be the most challenging solo of BGU.
I appreciate the time you had to spend on it. I think it took me 6 months! I'm sure you'll find 5 and 6 a little easier, and they're back to "only" 24 bars, so you probably won't need to spend another 4 months on them.
Hang on to that towel! You survived the toughest round!

OG_Blues

Guitar Geezer
Steely - you did good!!! Congratulations on getting through it - it's definitely not an easy one. When you move on, don't stop playing and practicing this one - it will just get more and more fluid over time and will be even more fun to play.
Tom

Steely Glen

Thanks for the feedback and encouragement! It's good to know that others have had to work on this one too. And I'll keep working at it, perhaps post a follow-up recording in a month or so.

Kevin, I'll do some more work on my vibrato per your advice. It's not a technique I've spent much time honing, so thanks for letting me know specifics I can work on.

kestrou

Blooze Noobie