Practice Amp for a Les Paul

DarinDoty

Blues Newbie
Greetings...
I am a rather novice player and not in a band. I am seeking advice on a good practice amp to get the best blues & rock sound from a Gibson Les Paul (Pro) & a PRS??

Thank you

MikeS

Student Of The Blues
Staff member
You can get a great sound for both of them with just about any amp.
It boils down to what you want to hear.
If you have a music store (preferably a large one like Sam Ash or Guitar Center) near you, I'd take one or both guitars and try out several amps.
You should decide before going what your price range is.
You can fine a good sounding, used blues Junior III for around $400.
Several folks here have a Positive Grid Spark that come in around $230,
but if you are on a budget, there are always lower end amps that can work just fine as a practice amp. (Fender Champ $130, various Monoprice under $100)

mountain man

Still got the Blues!
@MikeS has some great advise. I'll just throw out a different thought. If you can get a used Nace Pro-18 buy it!! They are no longer in production but they are great amps and people on this forum know them well. They are tube amps and when you replace the tubes no biasing is necessary so you can do it yourself at home. They are great for humbucker and single coil guitars as well. I've got both the combo and the head. :Beer:

MikeS

Student Of The Blues
Staff member
@MikeS has some great advise. I'll just throw out a different thought. If you can get a used Nace Pro-18 buy it!! They are no longer in production but they are great amps and people on this forum know them well. They are tube amps and when you replace the tubes no biasing is necessary so you can do it yourself at home. They are great for humbucker and single coil guitars as well. I've got both the combo and the head. :Beer:
Yeah I didn't mention Nace (I own 2 - one 18r & one Pro 18) because they are no longer in production & will probably be hard to find.

JohnHurley

Rock and Roll