Playing out at a jam session

Rick_Lees

Blues Newbie
Hey Rick Lees here
I recently attended a jam but could not get the sound I wanted to play…. Can’t really squat to see the settings and change it … so. Never get to play the stuff I want to. I am not a beginner but I dot get out to jams much…. What’s you experience?

Zzzen Dog

Blues Junior
Hey Rick,

First off, welcome!

First jam session, I wound up using someone else's rig. It was a Headrush modeller into back side of an amp, and couldn't really figure it out. Owner was helpful though and adjusted things on the fly mid-way through first song.

Second time I brought my own modeller, with powered speakers and it played great with both guitar and bass. So obviously easy to control.

I think you just gotta be able to roll with the punches, and enjoy the experience for what it is.

Wishing you the best at your next Jam!

Grateful_Ed

Student Of The Blues
Welcome to the forum Rick, I'm glad you found us.
The closest I get to an audience is when I practice blues faces in a mirror. It's pretty easy to set up in my practice area so I have no advice for you except to stay tuned for the rest of the crew here to chime in and check out some of Griff's gear videos on Facebook.

Rick_Lees

Blues Newbie
I’ve been a Griff watcher for a long time I just never wen this far…. Thanks for all the advice….I currrenly have a nice studio where my sound I can mess around with. I’m finally retiring from owning a HVAC Company… owner, sales, tech and installer so now I’m going to watch and learn more

dvs

Green Mountain Blues
Welcome to the show!

At a jam, I think achieving your ultimate tone does not need to be your first priority (make sure you're not sending out ice-pick highs and you'll be ok). Play in time, be in tune, don't step on the lead, and have fun - if you do those things, you'll sound great.

Last edited:

tommytubetone

Great Lakes
Welcome to the show!