New way (for me) to practice

Bleonard

Blues Newbie
Griff:

I am a severely frustrated guitarist. I have played, off and on, for decades. I feel as if I am still a beginner. I particularly have a hard time soloing. I hear people complain when someone's solo sounds like scales. Well, that pretty well describes me.

I had a great awakening when you did the February Challenge last year on triplets. I didn't think that I could get that, but I did and it wasn't all bad. That inspired me to learn the opening riffs to Johnny B. Goode. Being able to do that was great.

But this month, I have found something that helps immensely and that is a looper. I bought a Boss RC-3 Looping Station and have been experimenting with it for a few weeks. There are two things (so far) that it has helped me with:

1. When laying down a track, I could not believe how far off my timing was. It's just a fraction of a second, but it really messes up the track. I start with a 12 bar blues riff in a swing rhythm and then add chords and then an open-handed "thump" with the strings muted to simulate a bass drum (sort of.) Getting all three to line up properly is close to impossible for me. I am really working on this and the looper is helping greatly.

2. After I get the 12 bars entered into the looper, I turn off the recording and try to solo over them. Again, I realized how deficient I was at that. But I am getting much better. One thing that I am doing is expanding out of the first position and the top part of the second one, which is where I previously spent most of my time. I am slowly adding the third and fifth positions in because they surround the two that I am most familiar with. I will, at some time, add in the fourth position and have them all.

In all, I am getting my patterns down, learning licks, and getting my music to sound, well, musical.