Need help with bending technique.

StephenSlotten

Blues Newbie
Hi everyone. I've been working on the songs in Blues Gig in a Box. As I'm working through the riffs I've noticed I'm blistering my third finger quickly each session with all the bends (feels like a blister beneath the callus, not on the surface), and it hurts so much that I have to stop playing :(

I am not a beginner; I have calluses. I use 10 gauge strings, S-type guitar, jumbo frets, and the only thing I can think of is there's something in my bending technique that is causing my finger to "slide" over the string as I bend, causing blistering. I noticed as I sit I tilt the top of the guitar towards me, so I can slightly see the fretboard. If I angle the guitar more straight up, I notice my fingertip "catches" the string better and this helps, but does not cure the issue completely. I've checked my action, making sure the strings aren't too low.

Any advice? Thanks!

(Maybe I just don't have the strength and calluses I think I do. I had a major problem with bending and pushing my fingers under the strings above the one being bent. I've cured that; I try to watch Griff and bend the way he does, but it hurts, lol)

Steve

MikeS

Student Of The Blues
Staff member
Only things I can think of are:
-you may be pressing down too hard instead of sliding up and just pressing enough to engage the fret.
- if your callouses are old and from playing acoustic, the bending could put extra strain on the tissue and that might create a blister under your existing callouses.

A tip (that comes too late) is that you should never practice so much that you blister. it just delays everything.

Elwood

Blues
Steve,