More than one guitar?

Monty

Blues Newbie
What are peoples thoughts on playing more than one guitar, at least as a new player? My thoughts vacillate between sticking with one so as not to add another level of complexity while I learn to play the instrument, and playing a few of them so I develop the ability to adapt to various instruments.

Thoughts?

JohnHurley

Rock and Roll
Well they dont change much its your choice. No one here will tell you dont get lots of them.

Im partial to gibsons and now lately prs but lots of fine epiphones and ibanez and squires.

I lately really like the 24.5 scale length of prs se santanas but fenders with longer scale work just fine too ... playing guitar is not easy switching between guitars not something to worry about.

PapaRaptor

Father Vyvian O'Blivion
Staff member
Say what?
insanity.jpg

Silicon Valley Tom

It makes me happpy to play The Blues!
I have been playing guitars for over 68 years. Personally, if I were just starting out on my guitar journey, I would stick to one instrument and not worry abut having one of each, like some forum members aspire to. Become use to that instrument, learn everything possible about technique, and what ever type of music you wish to play. Then when you are ready (and you will know when that is!) then search for that "perfect instrument", to play one specific song. One instrument for each song you play. The guitar manufacturers will love you.

Wait until you discover that different pickups, strings, frets, necks, amplifiers, pedals, and other parts can and will give you a distinct sound. Enjoy the ride. :)