Modelers

Barred

Blues Newbie
im new to bgu, and have been hacking at guitar since i was a young man. i learned many songs, but felt i knew very little about playing guitar.
my most common practice time was/is while watching sports out of the corner of my eye, sitting on the couch or chair with a solid body unplugged or a semi hollow if im feeling roudy......so my ear for tone is nonexistant,
i own several amps,all modelers that were going to change my life,...didnt happen.
id like to start a thread for those who play through modelers, perhaps through head phones.
i hope some folks with similar interests will join in to discuss things like how you use your backing tracks, favorite modeling effects. how or if you've developed a tone, or your favorite course in Bgu.
Perhaps i can lead off by saying that I have a Fender Mustang, a Yamaha Fh10, and the new Spark amp, all have plenty of knobs, they obviously change the tone in some cases, not so obviously in others.
Does anyone have similar style equipment?
Want to share what you know?
Have tones you like?
oh, and is there an existing thread similar to this? i'd be happy to join in there instead.

Grateful_Ed

Student Of The Blues
Hi Barred, welcome to the Clan. I'm glad you joined us.
Much like yourself, I mostly practice unplugged. I have about a half dozen tube amps that rarely get used.
I also have a Yamaha Thr-10 and a Fender G-DEC. The Yamaha is my default computer speaker. and the G-DEC is my default metronome. They both serve more often than not as tuners.
When I do Griff's lessons, I play the DVDs through the desk top computer to the Thr-10. Then I plug my guitar into the Thr-10 and get both through my headphones. The Thr-10 has separate volume for instrument and aux. input so I can get a decent mix of lesson and guitar.
I seldom feel rowdy...;)

PapaBear

Guit Fiddlier
Welcome Barred, enjoy the journey! I, too have a spark and an eleven rack, probably even have an old POD around here somewhere

tommytubetone