"Let the games begin"---"Hunger games"

blackcoffeeblues

Student Of The Blues
Got my digital recorder--got my flat screen T.V.---got my lap top---got my guitars---got my mics--?????
Now Audacity or Reaper???? I can get either one for free---I got a friend that tells me Reaper is better and easier than Audacity---plus expandable. Anybody know?

Elwood

Blues
I am a struggling neophyte with recording. Having said that I found Audacity, although simple in some ways (like noise reduction), does a great job of earning it's name.

Reaper is the first time I made any descent progress with my stuff. Tons of videos & instructional u-toob stuff. It seems to be a good platform for me to get a grasp of the 5% of recording magic I will be able to grasp anyway. I liked it enough to pony up the modest fee to register. No regrets.

Ted_Zeppelin

I’ll agree with you so that both of us are wrong.
I am not sure which one is better but I have been using reaper for several years and if a dope like me can figure it out, it must not be too bad:whistle:.

blackcoffeeblues

Student Of The Blues
TZep--you don't know who you are talking too about being a COMPUTER IDIOT---almost everyone on this FORUM will vouch for my IGNORANCE of computers..BUT I'M trying. OK the REAPER IT IS (sure hope to heck his first name ain't "Grim")...ain't got nothing to lose but my sanity.

Elwood

Blues
BCB, you and Kenny Gioa are gonna spend a little quality time. :) You'll see.(y)

I really think the way to go at it is like MS Word. Few could care less about all the c-rap in word, they just want to do their work. Since I began trying hard to not get distracted by the zillions of available ways to screw up my work, it is going marginally better. I'm the one with the most complicated guitar I have is a tele, one switch - two knobs, so I really don't care for functionally unnecessary complexity. Reaper seems to "dumb down" enough for me to work and still has tons of whirlygig ticks in there too.