Lesson 4

Russ

Blues Newbie
I'm having a heck of a time with Lesson 4. I completed the learner's speed version and moved to the player's speed. This one sounds like it has 3 different beat counts in the first 5 measures. I can't even get them to be consistent with a metronome. I know I'm the intermediate beginner here and must not be able to keep up or hear it or something. I guess I'll just have to choose a speed and learn it.

luckylarry

Student Of The Blues
Russ my book shows the first 5 measures as the most popular strum. then 6 is different, 7 different again, 8 is another different strum and 9 back to the most popular strum. Then at bar 14 it all gets different again. I haven't played this lesson for awhile but I remember that the strumming changes made it sound like the rhythm changed when it was the same 4/4 count. I found it really weird in places because of the change in the strum.

Russ

Blues Newbie
The only real difficulty I have is muting the D chords at full speed. Other than that, its difficult to get into the strum tempo cuz I could swear it's a different speed than Griff's lead in. That's what throws me off.

Russ

Blues Newbie
http://youtu.be/y-s8C7UiXqc
I didn't get a few of the final chords to come out clean, but we're going for rhythm so I let myself slide.

luckylarry

Student Of The Blues
Really good Russ. I like that at the start you take your time, count it all out. At the end you are at full speed and play very confidently.  :)

Russ

Blues Newbie
This was one of those lessons I had to let soak in. I was having trouble getting the D chords to cooperate. Then I had of day at work where I got off work an hour before bed time, so I couldn't practice. That day of "going without" helped me a lot. I went at it the next day and got it right almost every time. This happens to me a lot. If I'm having trouble with something and I leave it alone for a day, I usually do at least 50% better the next day  :eek: .

Russ

Blues Newbie