Slow Blues Feel Learning To Talk From The Construction Kit

Aussie Dave

Blues Newbie
Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie to the forum, but I've been using Griff's excellent courses for a year.

The CK is a great idea, in helping us learn vocabulary & timing & how it goes together.

However, I wonder what the best approach is (after learning the licks, constructing some solos & playing them) to actually doing this in a more free-flowing, spontaneous way like a lead guitarist with real chops? Clearly this transition takes practice & time. What are the best steps to make, to take me there?

Dave

OG_Blues

Guitar Geezer
Hi Dave, and welcome to the forum!
You ask an excellent question - one that I have asked myself and have been giving some thought to.
The SBCK seems to work pretty good for constructing solos in a formulaic "planned" manner, but my personal ultimate objective with the course is to achieve exactly what you suggest. To be able to construct solos "on the fly" in real time, to the point that a person could play somewhat endlessly over a long backing track without repeating the same stuff over and over again, or at least not in the same order, and in any key.
The exact method to achieve that is probably somewhat different for everyone, and I am not yet certain exactly what will work for me, much less someone else, so all I can offer is my train of thought and speculation.
In a pretty general sense, I do believe that one prerequisite involves acquiring a fairly large vocabulary of licks, and variations of those licks, such that they can be played without any thought or concentrated effort, and recalled without hesitation so that they just flow from the fingers. This is a pretty tall order all by itself that will take me quite a bit of time and practice - possibly years. I'm a slow learner. :) But I don't give up easy.