Is learning 'slow' a must?

Cynicure

Blues Newbie
Hi Griff, I have a question that perhaps many 'returning to it' guitarists might relate to.

Okay, here's my question: As a self taught rhythm guitarist, who now plays rhythm reasonably well (pardon my immodesty!), I find it really hard to slow down to play along with your examples in the 'Beginners'' course; is it absolutely indespensible to do so? Or if I see how a phrase or a lick should sound like at a slightly faster tempo, is it okay to ignore the metronome... and perhaps even the playalong... ? I guess what I'm really asking, is, "Is there some particular point to learning how to play at 54 or 60 bpm?

:)

:)

wgabree

Blues Newbie
That's an interesting question!  I would consider myself an advanced guitarist (pardon my immodesty! :p)  I worked through the BBG and playing it at the slow tempo was difficult - which was weird!  But I did it and I can say I got some great results from doing it.  My playing has cleaned up quite a bit and I feel more control.

I'm completely sold on the playing slow to play fast method.

I'm also sold on the "Beginners Mind" philosophy of relearning basics many times - each time you have new eyes and pick up new things you missed the first time around.  The more you know, the more you realize you don't know.

Cheers!
:cool:

Cyberthrasher_706

Blues Newbie
That's actually what caused me to put BBG down, the inability to play slow. But, I know I need to. In reality, you should be able to play everything at any speed. It's something I'm working on. To me, it's usually a sign that I don't quite have the timing down.

Rue

Blues Newbie
I'm with you Wayne on this one...I also found that going slow in BBG was  a  lot harder than I thought it would be..I did it and learned I had several bad habits that needed to be corrected.  Griff knows how to teach for sure

Griff

Vice Assistant General Manager
Staff member
The question is a good one, and fairly common.