I must be nuts

tommytubetone

Great Lakes
I now have a real computer and am thinking of getting into recording for the VJR. I just picked up a MacBook Air 2019 model. It appears some are using GarageBand. I'll use that unless that's a bad move for a total beginner. I guess that's step one then. Thoughts? My goal is to be able to do this by the end of 2020. :D

PapaRaptor

Father Vyvian O'Blivion
Staff member
I'm not Mac literate, but what I've heard of others who have used GarageBand, it sounds like a great starter DAW. @CowboyBob can probably give you a more in-depth analysis.
It's too bad @SeattleSlim isn't still active on the forum. He is a master of GarageBand. Some of the stuff he showed us at previous BGU Live after hours was mind blowing.

My goal is to be able to do this by the end of 2020. :D
You should be able to do this by the end of next week!

Cowboy Bob

Horse Player/Guitar Wrangler
I just picked up a MacBook Air 2019 model. It appears some are using GarageBand. :D

Congrats on the new ‘puter. Ain’t nothing wrong with GB. It is actually pretty powerful, and being included with macOS is a plus.

Work through the tutorials first. Learn how to record audio, how to record midi, and import audio and midi. All in the tutorials.

Exporting .wav files can be a bit hairy at first, but really is easy enough.

A decent interface won’t go amiss, there are a plethora of USB interfaces @$150 or so. You may need a USB adapter, but that shouldn’t be a biggie.

jmin

Student Of The Blues
I've been using GarageBand since I joined the forum. First, I used it on an iPad, then on a Mac. I just use it for recording BGU lessons, and the occasional VJR stuff. I'm no Mac/Garageband expert, but it's so easy, I don't think you have to be. That's all I had to do was get an interface for the guitar (an Apogee Jam) and plug it in to the Mac (USB). If you want to sing, you may want to consider a more robust interface with 2 inputs - Mic & Guitar.