I have a different question about bending

Discussion in 'SWS Questions' started by DaveHannan, Oct 24, 2011.

1. DaveHannan

DaveHannan Guest

First of all, I am new to playing guitar.  I've been playing for about eight months or so.  I'm currently working on BGU and SWS.  (I have alot of time to practice)  I have solo 1 down, totally memorized and can play with the track that has guitar.  I kind of have to cheat to do it though.  I couldn't quite get the bends a full step, so I tuned my guitar down half a step.  Now I can bend to pitch.  I thought that when my fingers gained more strength I would return to standard tuning. 

Today I returned to standard tuning and my bends were much better than they were, but still a little flat.  I decided to put in a little work learning solo 2.  The first riff has a bend on the 3rd string (a full step from D# to F)  The best I can manage right now is a half step bend on this string.  Of course with my guitar tuned down a half step I can bend it a whole step.

I play a Stratocaster and I know that because of the scale length the strings have to be tighter and are harder to bend.  (I don't know how much harder it is to bend, I don't have anything to compare it to)

I'm just curious how others have handled this.  Is tuning down the answer?  or is it still just a matter of gaining strengh in my hands and calluses in the right places?

Anyway, I'll post a recording of solo 1 when I can get the other strings to shut up.  I'm still working on muting strings.   :)

2. luckylarry

luckylarry Student Of The Blues

Dave it is 2 things, first technique. Are you using 2 or 3 fingers to do the bend. This is important as 1 finger is not enough. Secondly it is practice. The best practice I know is to play the note you want to bend to first and get the sound in your head. Then do the bend to that note. Take your time and concentrate on the note. I am betting that within a week or 2 the bend will come and you will be pleased. :)

3. Jon3b