How'd I do on figuring out the chords?

MarkRobbins

Blues Junior
I'm certain that transposing a song into the chord progression is easy for quite a few of you, but this was my first crack at it. This particular piece is not something I would be learning for fun, but I'm a Freemason, and there's a song that's usually sung by the lodge during a part of a degree ceremony. The Masonic lyrics are set to the tune of Pleyel's Hymn. My lodge hasn't used the song for years, primarily because no one knew how it went.

I decided to learn it so I could accompany the members and reintroduce it to the ritual. I couldn't find a chord chart anywhere, but I could find the sheet music. I know enough "theory" to read the key signature, and know how to figure out the standard chords for that key. It's a simple enough melody, but I'm an intermediate guitarist at best.

Pleyel's Hymn is in G, so the major chords would be G, C, and D, while the minor chords would be A, B, and E. The YouTube version has the sheet music as the visual while the song is playing. It can be found at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZDjR8yV_BLQ.

The chord progression I came up with is:
G Bm Am G
G Bm Am G
D Em D (with a Dsus2 on one beat of the last D)
G Bm Am G

I think it sounds okay, but I'm not entirely sure I've got it nailed. So, if you want to take a run at what I've done and make suggestions, I'm all ears.

Paleo

Student Of The Blues
Excellent!

I'd just make a couple of small changes.

G D Am G
G D Am D7 G
D Em A D
G D Am D7 G

D Major because the notes are D F# A rather than B D F# (Just one note difference.)
I threw in a D7 between the Am and G in the 2nd and 4th lines.
And an A in the 3rd line.

Here's a "complete" break down of all the chords (w/o any inversions) I came up with. (Which I will demonstrate first.)

G G D G / Am7 D G
G G D G / Am7 D7 G
D B7 Em A / D A7 D
G G D G / Am7 D7 G

https://dl.dropbox.com/s/dd6dda2npsyzmng/Progression.mp4?dl=0