Hi Everyone - I Wanna Play the Blues When I Grow Up

SuzanneShafer

Addicted to Bikes & Blues
Okay, so I'm already well into Senior Citizen territory but I see no reason to let that stop me. I've always been up for Adventure; I rode my first motorcycle at age 63, so 70 doesn't seem too late to fall in love with guitars and the Blues. Already I've learned that, as with bikes, the right number of guitars to own is always one more than you have. :) At the moment I have two bikes (a BMW and a Russian Ural with a sidecar) and four guitars (Fender Parlor Acoustic, 3/4-size Manitou Les Paul, 1946 Rickenbacker Lap Steel, Gretsch Resonator)---in other words, year-round fun! It's snowing as I write this and with the bikes under cover, I'm having a blast learning to play barre chords and pentatonic scales. Really!

In my youth I was an accomplished classical pianist. With that background, I know rhythm inside out (Griff is spot on with the counting thing!) but until a couple months ago I'd never heard of Box 1 or CAGED. Now, thanks to Griff's excellent courses and teaching style, I'm learning fast. Maybe I'll even be ready to join a local jam with my little Les Paul and lap steel when COVID House Arrest is finally lifted. I'm spending hours each day practicing to make it so, and if this forum is anything like another I recently joined, I'll find wisdom here that helps me get it done.

Many Moons

Biking+Blues=Bliss
Hi Suzanne. Welcome to the forum. Bikes and Blues eh? We are kindred spirits.:) This is the place to get you up and running in the blues. By the sound of it, you'll be playing at jams before too long. Head down to the Virtual Jam Room and join, it's great fun.(y)

david moon

Attempting the Blues
Welcome Suzanne. A lot of us here are in a similar demographic. I had my 70th birthday Dec 11. You will find lots of support and expertise here whether it be about gear, technique, theory, or specific questions about the lessons. There are no "Stupid Questions" here.