Fender G-DEC 3 Thirty question?

upnorthdoug

Blues Newbie
I'm just beginning to learn what my G-DEC amp can do. I'm working my way through the BGU courses and can't figure out if I can play the backing tracks from the lesson CD's through the amp itself. Can anyone answer this question. I'm not very tech savvy. I bought an SD card reader, and appears I have the first CD loaded on to a SD card, but I can't get the amp to play from the card. Any help? I'm spending more time trying to figure this out than I am spending time practicing.

L

LynnLaFrance

Your amp will prepare your SD card for you (with correct folders and such) - so if you didn't do this first you may have a problem.  Maybe erase the SD card and then try again by putting it in the amp first. I think the format function is in the utility menu on the amp.

This is what I've found in the owner's manual.

"SD CARD SLOT — You can use an SD flash memory card to have
additional Band tracks available to the G-DEC 3. You can use MP3
or WAV files (stereo/mono 16 bit, 44.1k) or MIDI files (type 0 or
type 1 ). You can also import and export presets to the SD card.
Insert an empty SD card in the G-DEC 3 and the G-DEC will
automatically create the appropriate folders for you. Then you
can load MP3 or WAV files from your computer onto the SD card
"Audio" folder to use as Band tracks. Presets, phrase and MIDI
tracks go in their respective folders."

Make sure your BGU files are MP3 or WAV files (you may have to convert them - I don't remember what format they are in).

Also, to play them you use the "Band Menus".  This info is from the Advance Owner's manual.

Band menus
Use the Band menus to select a new band track for the current preset and adjust all band track settings, or to import the band track (will all settings) from another preset.
Band Track Selection
To select a new band track:
1. Press the BAND soft-key.
2. The first menu is Band Type. Here you can select either