adjusting strings to making bending notes easier?

Bill_Sheehy

Blues Newbie
I'm a newbie ... just working my way thru BBG and already lusting after BGU! But I'm having a problem learning how to only get sound out of one string when bending a note. Does this mean the strings on my electric guitar needs an adjustment? Or is it simply a matter of more practising in order to get it right? Seems I heard or read somewhere something about changing the string tension. But wouldn't that change the pitch? Oh, woe is me........

GeeDub

Mojo Seeker
That is something I experience occasionally.  I believe what you are noting is string noise from the adjacent string(s) during the bend.  I try to make sure I mute the strings above the bend with my left index finger. 

Think of using your index finger like you are making a bar chord.  You only need to have the tip up a string or two above the one you are bending.  (ie, if bending the B (2nd) string, you want to mute the G and D (3rd & 4th) strings to avoid the unwanted sounds.

I think this may help solve your problem.  After a while, it will become second nature to mute. 

Hope this helps.

Glenn

Elio

Student Of The Blues
I haven't seen anything with regards to adjusting string tension and bending, but I have been struggling with the same issue as well. I found Griff's blog posts on bending to be very helpful. The two I am aware of are at:

http://bluesguitarunleashed.com/string-bending-lesson-with-marty-schwartz/#

http://bluesguitarunleashed.com/muting-unwanted-strings/#

Using the index finger to mute the immediately adjacent string as Geedub described, along with my right palm to mute the other strings has helped quite a bit.  Doing it quickly and smoothly is my biggest challenge now, but it seems to be improving with practice.

wgabree

Blues Newbie
Could be a little of both - although practice would enable you to compensate for a poorly set up guitar to some extent.