Adding acoustic to my electric may be more difficult than I thought.

MarkRobbins

Blues Junior
I'm supposed to get an acoustic guitar for my 70th birthday next month. I've been learning on an electric for the past 2 1/2 years. I've decided on a Taylor 114e.

Yesterday I stopped into my local shop to pick up a pack of strings. The have a 114ce (a 114e with a cutaway) hanging on the wall, so I decided to play around with it a little. Jeez, the higher action and heavier strings turned me from a mediocre player to an inept one. My guy at the shop told me he can lower the action for me, and maybe switch strings from 12s to 11s, but I'm still nervous as to whether I'm biting off more than I can chew with an acoustic.

Crossroads

Thump the Bottom
12's are pretty big for acoustic, in my case. I use 11s or 10s. They'll be an adjustment period

But once you master the acoustic you'll be amazed how much easier to play electric. Just take your time and you'll be fine, it's almost like playing a different instrument.

Last edited:

Jim_Schmidt

Blues Newbie
I'd say it kinda depends on what you're trying to do with an acoustic. If you're really trying to play all out blues with lots of bends, then, yeah, lighter strings are going to help. You could also sometimes adjust licks so that bends become slides a/o ho/po. Won't be the same, but will work. OTOH, you'll get better tone with heaver strings, and they'd be better for acoustic slide playing. Just like electrics, higher quality guitars are going to sound and play better. When I got my Larrivee D-10, I felt like I suddenly became a better player. I generally use 13s on that because they sound great. Yeah, I can't do more than a 1/2 step bend on anything other than the high E, but it's worth it to me for what I'm using it for (acoustic rhythm playing).

straightblues

Blues Junior