Sag and Bias

gpower

Blues Junior
Here are a couple of links that explain the terms Vash!

http://www.aikenamps.com/Sag.html

http://www.humbuckermusic.com/tube-amp-bias-article.html

Once you understand what they mean, you'll have an idea of what the control should do, or replicate.

MikeN

Just a lowly blues guitar player
I'm no electrical engineer but the best description I've heard is that BIAS is like the idle on your car. Current flow. It is an optimal setting for best performance with your amp and the power tubes installed. High and low BIAS settings will give different results in tone. I just replaced the power tubes on my Blues Junior. It has a fixed BIAS (no adjustment). I bought a power tube pair set for a middle range. I believe the Blues Junior tends to run hot. (high bias). Some amp manufacturers have adjustable BIAS and some have fixed BIAS. Mesa Boogie is one of the best examples of the fixed BIAS amp. Randall Smith(MESA Boogie fame) wrote a good article explaining BIAS and why he chose a fixed BIAS for his amps. Well done. Those guys are all about tone.

Mike

Rancid Rumpboogie

Blues Mangler
Aw, now you've gone and put out all kinds of stuff to confuse the poor guy.  Put simply, Bias is a good reason to not buy a tube amp so you don't have to deal with it every time a tube burns out.  Vash doesn't have a tube amp, just a Mustang, so Vash, simply twiddle the two knobs until you find the setting that sounds best to you ... you don't have any tubes to fry, so there's nothing to worry about.

Yeah, as usual, I'm just stirring up s**t, but couldn't resist. ;D

falconer

Blues Newbie
Not all tube amps require re-biasing when changing tubes.

If you don't want to mess with it, and it really is an easy thing to do, then buy a cathode-biased amp.  You can swap or replace tubes to your heart's content.  :)

gpower

Blues Junior
The point is they have an affect on tone, and understanding what it is they are, would help some one use them.

vashondan