Can you paint a guitar body with automotive paint?

2000strat

I have gathered up all the parts to put together a Partsocater. It has an Alder wood body. I would love to paint it to match my bike. Can you paint the body with automotive paint products??  I have some left over after painting my bike. It's all acrylic urethane products. All advice is very welcome.    Thank you very much

Grateful_Ed

Student Of The Blues
The short answer 2000strat is, absolutely yes. It is especially useful if you are not trying for a transparent finish as the best way to utilize this type of paint would be over a primed body.
It will be rather a thicker finish than a nitro-lacquer finish but the look can be just as beautiful as any car or motorcycle finish.
I am a car painter by trade and have been so for nearly 40 years. I have used urethane base and clear coats on rifle stocks, wood interior trim (clear only) as well as guitars. It won't hurt the value of a parts caster and you probably won't be able to tell the difference in tone.
I actually prefer it to the spray can lacquers available from stewmac and such.  -ed

Rancid Rumpboogie

Blues Mangler
Are you gonna paint "Harvey Diddleson" on the headstock?  Just joking.  So ... how is your bike painted?  We could enjoy seeing pics of that as well.

2000strat

Well Rancid hoping that this spring, early summer I will have the new engine back in it. Then I will buy a computer camera, have someone show me how to use it and then have someone show me how to put pictures on the site. Putting the new engine back in will be easier.