Counting Audibly vs Using a Metronome

PapaRaptor

Father Vyvian O'Blivion
Staff member
So right away I realized that counting out loud was going to be challenging for me even though I have a good feel for the blues and when to play chords and notes.

It really is a challenge! I've been playing for several years now and when I need to stop and count something out, I quickly discover the difficulties I encounter trying to walk and chew gum at the same time.

Silicon Valley Tom

It makes me happpy to play The Blues!
Rick, there are different approaches to this topic. You should try several, and see what works best for you. One approach is to listen to a piece you like, find a corresponding Jam Track and play over it. Start at a slow pace and build your speed. When you think you "have got it", record yourself! :cool:

You should have all your basic techniques underhand. If you use a pick, then being able to single pick notes, double, and triple pick. Then add slides, bends, hammer on - off, etc. Learning a solo is one thing, but "improvising" (stealing from others! ;)) is a horse of a different color. :confused: This is where the term "borrow" comes from! (y)

Tom

OG_Blues

Guitar Geezer
This is why I love this forum. I learn something all the time.
Just when I was starting to master my instrument of choice, the triangle, I learn of this new thing called a metronome.
Finally!!! An instrument that I can play really, really well!!!!! And right on time too.
Then I learn that it's not really all that new, so now I'm going to have to invest big bucks in one of those vintage ones with the pendulum
and sliding weight. Another rabbit hole and money pit to dive into!

MarcV

Blues Junior