Pedals/Effects compression

snarf

making guitars wish they were still trees
I don't remember who it was, but somebody was asking about compressors in one of the recent AAP sessions. Brian Wampler posted a cool vid about using compression a while back that I just thought about today. Take a look if you're so inclined. As always, it's a fun and informational watch. Kind of like Griff, the guy hears stuff that I wouldn't begin to notice sometimes.

CaptainMoto

Blues Voyager
One of the first pedals I purchased when I started building my rig was a compressor.
At that time I really didn't understand compression that well but, I liked what it did.

Overtime, as I began diving into recording/mixing I've learned more about compression and now have 2 on my pedal board, 2 in my recording gear rack as well as, many compressor plug ins.
I'm still learning but, I can say I know that compressors are very powerful tools.

mountain man

Still got the Blues!
I have a pigtronix philosophers tone micro compressor. I rarely use it. I recently was playing the ceramic pup Jeff Beck and really like the tone while using my compressor pedal. I should probably record things and then I would use compressors with mixing. But for guys like me that usually play at the house to Griff's instructional videos or to YouTube videos practicing songs I find the last thing I need to do is use a compressor. I need to be able to cut through the mix and have as much amplitude as possible so I can hear what I'm doing and hear the tone of my guitars and what I hands are doing. I need to hear if I'm making mistakes or if those b5ths sound good how I'm using them......... :Beer:

Last edited:

CaptainMoto

Blues Voyager