Today’s Musiciansfriend sdod

snarf

making guitars wish they were still trees
I have no Quilter experience so take this with a grain of salt or two, and this was on another forum I used to frequent several years ago. Several of the guys on that forum were singing the praises of the Quilter 101, and were all talking about how they had bought them to use as back-up amps for their gigs because of their size and portability. As I recall, they said it easily fit in their gear bag with their cables and other stuff, and, when they did use them, they sounded really good. One of the guys even said it was small enough he had mounted it on his pedal board. Never saw a pic of his pedal board, so I can't confirm that it's actually that small or if he was just talking.

I saw the SDOD about an hour ago, and, if there was any way I could justify another amp (I already have a wall of amps that never get turned on), I'd grab one just to try it out. $179 is a great price on them from what I've seen (I think they usually go for $299). Grab one, try it out, and send it back if you don't like it since MF has a good return policy.

MarkDyson

Blues Hound Wannabe
FWIW this is a picture of the 101 Mini Reverb (same size as the one in that SDOD) mounted on a pedalboard; hopefully it gives you some context as to the size.

mini amp stack 06oct2018.jpg

MikeR

Guitar Challenged
Staff member
That's an incredible deal! I bought mine when they first came out and it's a great amp at the normal price, much less for $180. Thinking about getting a 2nd one at that price. While it doesn't have reverb, it has the different amp voicings that the 101 Reverb doesn't have. Made a "Blockdock"-style speaker cab with a 12" Eminence "Lil Texas" neo speaker for it and the whole thing weighs under 20 lbs. The cab is 16" wide and 12" deep.

DIYBlockDock.jpg

MarkDyson

Blues Hound Wannabe
How would you compare it to the Bias mini?