Chord and Pentatonic soloing/Diatonic and Pentatonic soloing

PCM

Spring, Texas
@Griff and Gents,

I just wanted to say that the theory session yesterday and on 9-16-2019 was some of the best "playing" theory information I've ever seen or received during my guitar journey (for want of a better word). I can't imagine that many of the guitar names from the 50's and 60's had to figure a lot of that stuff out themselves.

I hope your work on the "progressive" or advanced course comes to fruition. I wanted to add one, very small suggestion...I've been attempting this type of playing and material for close to 9 months now and am falling into the trap that you said you noticed when people start moving to this level...sounding "scaler" when starting to lay modes over a blues background or any song for that matter. I don't have a large vocabulary as I don't play or gig professionally. But I can "lickify" major and minor pentatonics much better than modal overlays. I hope the course contains a rather comprehensive section on solos and riffing to help minimize the "scaler" sound. I've been through the modes course twice now and it helps, but it is definitely a different way of thinking about the fretboard. I think it might require lots of "exercise" modules (IMHO only).

In closing, just wanted to say this access program and course material is money very well spent.

Nice work again!

PCM
Spring, Texas

Griff

Vice Assistant General Manager
Staff member
@Griff and Gents,

I just wanted to say that the theory session yesterday and on 9-16-2019 was some of the best "playing" theory information I've ever seen or received during my guitar journey (for want of a better word). I can't imagine that many of the guitar names from the 50's and 60's had to figure a lot of that stuff out themselves.