New To Blues Guitar Unleashed

KerryKlein

Blues Newbie
Actually, I'm fairly new to guitar period. I've been working on (and off) learning how to play this thing for about 30 plus years. Needless to say, I get to a certain point and get stuck, lose interest and move on to something else. But I always find my way back to picking up the guitar. I'm not getting any younger, so I've decided to reach out to people that can help, hence the BGU course. So my first question to you all, is where do I start? I've signed into my courses, but don't know what I'm supposed to work on first. Any suggestions?

CaptainMoto

Blues Voyager
Welcome!
Hmm? Where to start?
I've got several courses from Griff and others and that question never came up for me.
It's been some time since I started a new course but, as I recall, the material is laid out in a logical fashion to move you along in your learning experience.

Hope you get the answer your looking for.
Have fun learning:)

Bob630

Blues Newbe
Welcome to the forum, hope you enjoy. I agree BBG is a good place to start. The first couple lessons you find are pretty easy but it gets interesting as you move on. Join in here frequently lots of great folks with good information.

jmin

Student Of The Blues
Welcome Kerry! You should really enjoy it here. How many courses did you get?...and which ones?
I’ve done a few of them and always just went through them in order (page-by-page).
No matter which courses you’re working on, I think a couple of things you can do are: 1) learn to record yourself and the lessons. At some point you’ll want feedback. Learning guitar “online” almost requires that you learn to record and share your playing online. I find it really fun and motivational.
2) incorporate an “exercise/technique/scales” routine into your warm-up before practicing. I have used the pentatonic/blues scale for warm-up and to learn the “boxes” (a MUST).