Electric Guitars Les Paul for blues ?

PeterSchroeder

Munich, Germany
I started playing guitar with an Epiphone SG ( got it by chance) this year in springtime. In the meantime I got a cheap Squier Bullet Strat for traveling. I always struggle with the SG‘s handling - neck dive and everything seems to be much further left compared to the Strat or a Les Paul, nevertheless I prefer the sound of it over the Strat. Now got a chance to get a second hand Epiphone Les Paul Plus Pro. Played a Gibson Les Paul from a friend and was happy with the balance and sound. Now, should I replace the SG with the Les Paul, buy the Les Paul and keep the SG (would probably cause an argument with my CFO, aka wife) or get used to the less rich sound of my Strat which has a nicer handling compared to the SG ?

Maybe stupid question, but as a beginner I appreciate every kind of advice.

PapaRaptor

Father Vyvian O'Blivion
Staff member

From this group, the general consensus will be to keep them all! And I concur!
insanity.jpg

But what do I know?

Iheartbacon

Blues Junior
First, every guitarist should have at least one Strat and one Les Paul. At least one Tele is also highly recommended as well. SG’s fall further down the list in the optional category.

So, do not sell the strat and get the Les Paul.

BUT, there are a few things you can do to make the strat sound like you want. You can put in single coil sized humbucker pickups like the Seymour Duncan lil 59 or other offerings. Depending on the routing you can get a new pickguard and make it HSS (humbucker and two single coils) or HH (two humbuckers). Another approach favored by superstars like Clapton, Buddy Guy, Steve Winwood and Iheartbacon (perhaps slightly less well regarded than the others) is to add the Fender/Clapton mid-boost kit to your strat.