John's Little Mary's Lamb

LeftyJohn

West Wiltshire/Exeter, UK
I'm struggling with this one, can't sit with the provided backing track, often rushing it and usually getting the rhythm wrong in the 9th and 10th bars and often letting the & of beat three in the even bars ring out through the rest.

In this recording I think I've managed to mute the rest, the rhythm still needs some work...

https://soundcloud.com/user-144515253/little-marys-lamb-20190713

Suggestions welcome.

Regards, John

LeftyJohn

Thanks Eric, much appreciated.

I started playing properly March 2018. Before that I had a brief stint of trying unsuccessfully to learn as a teenager back in the early 1990's but quickly gave up in frustration as I had no idea where to start and a lot of encouragement to stop!

Regards, John

Jalapeno

Student Of The Blues
I hear you about the false start. Not all encouragement is the same :) You're doing great.

A friend of mine and I went to the guitar store back in 1982 and on a lark bought a couple of Ibanez Blazers thinking we could learn Pink Floyd's "Comfortably Numb" in about 10 minutes. We even split the cost of a book with the music. Little did we know how to tune the guitars or that the book was piano music with chord diagrams. He gave up after, literally, 15 minutes. I always try to finish what I start so I stuck it out for about a week, had someone tune my guitar and listened to the song on the cassette while I tried to play the chord diagrams.

I think I got through it once, maybe twice, strumming down the strings on the beat with my thumb. I declared victory but my fingers and thumb hurt so bad I literally wrapped the guitar in a towel and put it under the bed for 30 years. I still have mine, my friend sold his the day after we bought them. I brought it out again in 2012 after picking up the bass in about 2007 or 2008. This time I bought some DVD courses (including BGU) and I think I now have a handle on it.

Keep up the good work!

Eric

LeftyJohn