Lesson 9 & 10 - Playing the Chords

ScottMFL

Blues Newbie
Before I ask my question, some background. I'm new to guitar (about 5 weeks) and I'm really enjoying the lessons, and the hints on the forum.

In between building the calluses and pushing my hands and fingers into positions they've never before been in I'm parallel tracking GTMU and BBG.

In lesson 9 and 10 of GTMU I ran into a roadblock. Griff suggests near the end of lesson 10 that playing the chords that were defined during the exercises is a great way to learn the sounds. I agree, but don't know where to begin.

Did I miss something? I know only few chords (E7, A7, B7, D7, and last night I started in on G7 - I'm learning the new chords while I get down the chord changes in Example 11 of BBG ). So in what lesson or course would I learn how to form a D# Minor chord, for example? Did I run into a spot in the lesson that might be a bit advanced for my present experience level? If so, I can file this for the future. If not I need to go back and review something.

dvs

Green Mountain Blues
What is your musical background, aside from 5 weeks with your guitar? If that's it, and you're asking "what are the notes that make up a D#min chord, then this is the course for that and you may be in a little over your head. If you've got some musical background and you know what notes make up the chord (root, minor third, fifth = D#, F#, A#), and you're wondering how to play that on a guitar then you need to learn some moveable chord shapes (E & A shaped bar chords, major & minor, at a minimum). You'll eventually get there with BBG and BGU.

ScottMFL

Blues Newbie