course for a beginner

WarrenHummel

Blues Newbie
Hi this is for Griff or anyone who wants to answer and has some input , I just purchased the ABGU , I enjoy it am having alot of fun with it ,having to use my 335 at this point because the bridge on the acoustic cracked . oh well life goes on going to the shop next week . My big question ,my 15 year old son expressed the derire to learn to play the guitar . Would Griffs beginning blues guitar be the best for him. He would be starting from square one . he knows nothing . Hes been trying to work with u-tube , I think a course from Griff would be a much better fit . any feedback would be much appreciated , He was trying to use my ABGU and i could see him getting all kinds of frustrated . And i don;t want to spend money on any garabge courses . Well anyway thanks in advance for all the help. Warren Hummel

tommytubetone

Great Lakes
I'm thinking an absolute beginner might be better off with in person lessons to start with. I think Griff's course assumes you have some basic skills down, but I could be wrong about that. I haven't done that course.

D. R. Miller

Good News Blues
Maybe Classic Rock Guitar Unleashed or Beginning Blues Guitar. For personal lessons for a teen I'd recommend "School of Rock" if you have a franchise close by.

MarkDyson

Blues Hound Wannabe
I'm thinking that for starting from square one you might want to look at the free TrueFire beginner's courses. They have one general and one blues-oriented and, IIRC, they start all the way back at how to hold the guitar and what the part names are. Beginner Blues from Griff is great but I think it still assumes some basic knowledge.

Thatman

Playin' for the fun of it.