I envy you retired gomers :-)

MarkDyson

Blues Hound Wannabe
Last night I was supposed to play a fun min-set with the head rhythm guitarist of the "house band" where I do weekly open mics. Had some killer tunes lined up, someone savvy and sage to help me keep better time (I get amped up and start speeding up when I play and sing), and was all primed to have a blast that usually culminates in an after-hours jam session with various folks in the day's lineup.

Nope.

Ended up working a 13+ hour stint yesterday. My client is on the rocks with issues plaguing their latest software release and, well, part of what they pay me for (apart from my movie star looks) is to find trouble and shoot it. I'm mainly a visual and graphics guy but in a prior life I was a software engineer and, well, we're a team and I do what needs to be done.

Anyway, job done, troubles shot fulla holes, but I missed my "gig."

Next week. :Beer:

Chuck

Moderator (One of the Men in Black!)
Staff member
Well, I’m retired as well now! I did enjoy my job but can’t say as I really miss it.

My reason for retirement is than desirable but I had to make the call.

I still get tons of calls from customers and Engineers about systems and Robot problems so I’m not really out of the loop anyway.

Right now, I am wondering how I ever found the time for work anyway.

MarkDyson

Blues Hound Wannabe
I did enjoy my job but can’t say as I really miss it .... Right now, I am wondering how I ever found the time for work anyway.

Heh. I do love what I do and, most of the time, I'm good with the clients I work with. My main whine is how right now I have so much guitar stuff I want to practice and explore and learn, and this damned needing to pay bills and afford food and shelter is crimping my style. :confused:

OG_Blues

Guitar Geezer
A tractor without a beer holder is in dire need of modification. It's not rocket science!! :D