RobertMoriarty

Blues Newbie
Hi all ... It's Bob from Portola Valley, California (about 35 miles south of San Francisco). I just got started with BGU this week and look forward to sharing tips and ideas with everyone on the Forum. I've been playing guitar off and on (mostly off) for the past 44 years, and am looking to hone my chops now that I'm semi-retired and have a little more free time. I have a 2004 Fender Stratocaster (sunburst), a Fender Blues Jr. tube amp, and a Fender Mustang GT 40 solid state amp (use the latter primarily for doing quick recordings of my mediocre playing). On the acoustic side, I have a Martin D-28 and a Martin DM. Ultimately, I'd like to refine my soloing so that I don't appear to be playing scales all the time :-( All the best to all of you!

mountain man

Still got the Blues!
Welcome to the forum Robert! Good to have you with us!! I've got those Martin 28s too!! I just restrung one yesterday!! :thumbup:

Ted_Zeppelin

I’ll agree with you so that both of us are wrong.
Welcome aboard Bob. Check out the Virtual Jam Room at the bottom of the main forum page. This is a good tool to help you improve your soloing. All it takes is a little recording knowledge and the nerve to put your recordings out here for all to hear.

artyman

Fareham UK
Hi and welcome from one of the UK mob, great bunch on here with plenty of advice and encouragement, and yes take a wander down to the basement and join in on the Virtual Jam Room, great fun.

Silicon Valley Tom

It makes me happpy to play The Blues!
Welcome Bob. Any question, just ask! Let us know what you are working on at this time and what your goals are.

I am not too far from you as I am in Sunnyvale. I worked at AMPEX in Redwood City, as an electronics engineer, and then went into programming. Spent lots of time working in Palo Alto. I have been playing guitar for over 65 years.

Tom

CaptainMoto

Blues Voyager
Welcome!