Theory Question Concerning Multiple Guitars

luvtheblues

Blues Newbie
Hi Griff!

First off I love your teaching style and have pretty much all of your courses…I just need to buckle down and do them like they’re meant to be done. LOL

I either had an epiphany the other day or I am so confused that I am beyond hope. Now I have been playing guitar for my personal pleasure for over 45 years but just in the last few years have I paid any attention to understanding music theory. Now it’s my understanding harmony is the chords correct? So I was wondering if this thought process would work or if the sound would just be muddied up too much?

Say you’re in the key of C for simplicity and doing a chord progression (any progression) but I’ll use the I-IV-V since blues is the main topic but I’m just using the major not 7th in my example. So the chords are C-F-G. Now on the I chord if you have say 2 guitars (or 3) if guitar 1 plays the “root chord” of C and guitar 2 plays the 5th chord the G (if 3 guitars guitar 3 plays the 3rd E) and you follow that formula with each chord of the progression will it harmonize well or sound crappy? If my theory understanding is correct this would essentially have the root-3rd-5th for each chord being played using a chord on the combined guitars to sound like one big chord. I hope that makes sense what I’m trying to say. I really have no way to test it except in my small theoretical brain. LOL

Thanks for All You Do!

Jalapeno

Student Of The Blues
Hi, I'm not Griff but take a look at the triads for the three chords, assuming the chords are diatonic (meaning E minor and not E) you'd have CEG - EGB - GBD if three guitars played that you have CEGBD which is a Cmaj9th chord.

C is the root
E is the major third
G is the fifth
B is the major 7th. In the blues the dominant 7th is used (also called the flat 7th) so it is not going to sound bluesy by using the major 7th
D is the 9th.

I hope that helps.