READING TAB

Crossroads

Thump the Bottom
Maybe you may need "that music with the dots on the page"?

Have you considered taking the publisher to court?

Bushwhacker

Suspect 1
Good one, Crossroads, lol... an un-named amateur musician on a public forum (Ultimate-Guitar), doing everyone a favor by tabbing out a song for us.... don't think taking him/her to court is in my mind! It just had me intrigued is all. Like was said earlier, its so quick with 16th notes at 84 bpm,(that's 5.6 notes per second), nobody would really hear it but the composer. Add to that my poor playing technique... well, you get the drift.
Dave

mountain man

Still got the Blues!
I'm no expert either, but I think in the first example it's a slide, in the second it's a hammer-on. A Curved connector between two different notes indicates that it's hammer on (or off). A curved connector between two of the SAME notes is an indication to just hold the note for the entire duration.
Hmmm, Good point. I didn't notice that curved connector under those notes........ Probably cuz I haven't seen that notation before? I was just focusing on what looked like a pretty obvious slide....... Now it's a bit confusing.

Elio

Student Of The Blues
I may be unclear on the question. Are you asking about the ties on the standard notation or on the curved lines under the tab? I have always seen the curved lines represent a slur, with the slanted lines indicating that slur is a slide. I may be totally off but those appear to be consistent with the ties on the standard notation that appear to indicate triplets?

BoogieMan

Blues Junior
That does clear it up for me. Looks like the slide I have been using the most is the legato slide. Thanks jalepeno.

Bushwhacker

Suspect 1
That's a good demonstration of the two different slides, commonly used. Inexperienced as I am, I only knew of one slide type.