What to Learn

John Danielson

Blues Newbie
Hi, I am new to the BGU course, on Lesson 6 at this time. I've been playing for 48 years, not great, I know chords, notes of the fret board and am learning the scales.
While going thru the BGU coarse should I also be learning Guitar Technique, Rhythm, Scales, Picking technique, ect. or is this just to much while learning BGU?
Should I just stick with one thing or is it ok to learn other things while pursuing my one goal (BGU).
I don't one to get overwhelmed and lose site of my objective.
Thanks
JLD

MikeS

Student Of The Blues
Staff member
You will find (most do) that if you stick doggedly with just one thing you will burn out on it, so there is nothing wrong with adding in other things (remember to play songs and have fun too).

Strick

Blues Newbie
Not being an expert on this but generally knowledgable about learning, I'd say if it feels like you're trying to take a drink from a firehose maybe you need to prioritize what you want to learn first. BUT if you got the time and energy to practice everything and you enjoy it, go for it. After 48 years of playing guitar, I'd say you are not going to "burn out" which could happen if you take on too much at one time and get frustrated. There are guys on this forum that could formulate a practice schedule which would organize what you really want to learn. BTW, the BGU course does sprinkle in various techniques through out the course. Before I found out that the internet had so many articles, video tutorials, etc, I didn't have a plan to get back into playing guitar. I was all over the place and not learning or progressing in my playing. I found Griff's course BGU and stuck with it as I do like the blues sound. This helped me progress along with the extra time I gained after I retired.

mountain man

Still got the Blues!