Is it just me?

sausage fingers

Blues Newbie
I've been playing for a few years and have alot of fun but taking this course has shown me I know nothing about counting For me it seems impossible. Its like trying to sing and play or playing a thump and trying to play licks. I know counting is important, but what happens when your are playing fast licks? I can barely say 1,2,3,4, let alone 1 and a 2 and a 3 etc!
Is it possible to keep the timing naturally?
Thanks

WilliaJahn

Blues Newbie
I have never posted before, but I had to here. I gave up the beginners course for this exact reason. I grew up with 3 chord rockers, played rhythm in a 70s rock band as a kid. Everything was 1 2,3 4. I tried and tried to count 1 and a. My brain just could not connect. Gave up for almost a year. I then started Griff's strumming course. For what ever reason I started to slowly get it. Maybe the hand motion? Don't know, but I went back to beginners blues course and could finally do it, really slowly at 1st. I had to actually write under the notes, 1 and a. It was painful. Finally I could count out loud and play along with Griff on the slow versions But full speed I could play along but not count at the same time, I thought the same thing this is never gonna happen! I swear, it was only the other day, I found myself counting and playing full speed with out even noticing it happened! That's my story, maybe will help? The strumming book that is. (BTW didnt even finish that book before I went back to beginner blues). Hang in there, it can happen.

snarf

making guitars wish they were still trees
what happens when your are playing fast licks?
2 things. First, you get better with counting the more you do it, so you can count more complicated rhythms (like triplets and 1/16th notes). Second, until you can play it, you play it slow enough that you can count it.