Question: How to Mix Major & Minor Leads Over Chord Changes

ChicagoNed

Blues Newbie
Hi Everyone,

I am new to BGU, still looking for classes that discuss the subject line question. I am a self taught guy and fairly good at my own riffs but I am totally stuck in the minor pentatonic scale, good at boxes 1-3. I seldom go above Box 3 because I play a lot on my acoustic and it's harder up the neck. But now I want to mix major and minor notes in my leads over chord changes 4 & 5 but have some rookie questions:

• First, I download and play to blues backing tracks labelled as minor assuming they sound more bluesy. Is that a correct assumption? Also, if there is a small case letter after the key's letter that means major, correct? I believe so and min is obviously the minor. Also, if it's just the letter and it doesn't have m or min after it, do I assume that's major?

• If I am playing to a backing track that's in A minor, my lead over the 1 chord should be in the A major scale, correct?

• When the track switches to the 4 & 5 chords, I do my leads in the A minor pentatonic cases, correct?

• Or, in a Amin track, when the track switches to the 4 & 5 chords, should I solo in the D & E minor (or major) scales?

I presently play 100% by ear, sound pretty good but often it's luck, I know where my root notes are in my two favorite keys of E & A. But I feel if I can understand when to change out of the minor scales over the chord changes I will sound mo bettah and not leave it up to my ear. I'm still searching for the classes that discuss this but there is sooooo much content on this site it is daunting.

Thanks,

Ned

Last edited:

PapaBear

Guit Fiddlier
It's totally up to you, but all those approaches will work, if your All Access, there is a course by that very name

PapaBear

Guit Fiddlier
Hi Everyone,