The electric chair

blackcoffeeblues

Student Of The Blues
https://soundcloud.com/blackcoffeeblues/judge056wav

Man what a hassle that was---Anyway here is a song that I did sometime back. (Bad recording) low volume.

Before any buddy starts hollering FOUL- over the subject matter--the song has been recorded 7 times----6 of them were women--the first recording of it was in 1927 by the Queen 1st Lady Of Jazz/Blues---Bessie Smith. since then 5 other women have recorded it---Tracy Nelson dedicated it to O. J. Simpson in 2006 at the Montreal Jazz festival. My cover of it is terrible---but it was raining on my deck today AND I have been Missing In Action down here for almost 2 months so here I go.---Later

Last edited:

Many Moons

Biking+Blues=Bliss
Some nice pickin' there Dave. Hard to hear the lyrics but sounds like a fun song. (in spite of the title):ROFLMAO::ROFLMAO:

blackcoffeeblues

Student Of The Blues
Yeah-you got to turn it up loud----It was a one taker I found cleaning out the old Zoom -24---figured I'd just throw it on here---A lot more delay than needed,, but really didn't feel much like recording it again. But you all are forgiving people. Later P.S. The actual title is "Send me to the electric chair".

CaptainMoto

Blues Voyager
Good One Dave!
Volume wasn't bad, just a little too much reverb for my old ears to make out the lyrics.

I checked out several other's doing it.
What was your inspiration to do that one?

sdbrit68

Student Of The Blues
now, since I wanted to listen to the original..............................I found out Hugh Laurie did it, and has an album called didnt it rain

Not usually a jazz fan, but, I am a hugh laurie fan, so looks like I will be expanding my horizons because of this thread

Oh, and now I want to learn to play it

blackcoffeeblues

Student Of The Blues
What was your inspiration to do that one?