General Question on the timeline of the course

JoshuaSimon

Blues Newbie
I just bought BGU 2.0 about two weeks ago and am REALLY enjoying it so far. Probably the best product I've seen put together on guitar instruction. I've already made some noticeable progress after getting back into playing 2 months ago following a decade plus layoff.

I have a general question about a good gauge of progress with the program. Obviously, I know everyone is different, but is there a reasonable timeline for progression through various stages of the course if someone is committed to working on it 30-60 minutes a day?

Maybe more specifically for Griff, how long would it take you to teach someone these lessons if giving an individual private instruction?

As an FYI,I feel I'm an average beginner level player.

jmin

Student Of The Blues
BGU 1.0: December, 2014 - October, 2016. (1 yr 10 mos).
I’m one of those weird exceptions...I went straight through. I retired and wanted to play guitar as a hobby. I have played guitar since I was about 12 years old. I didn’t have much “formal” training, but played in a band in high school and played casual gigs in my 30’s with a “wedding” band. After I retired, I found Griff on the internet and have been here ever since. I’ve completed some of Griff’s other smaller courses and am in the process of completing ABGU (started February, 2017). I try to play/practice about 1-2 hours a day, about 5-6 days a week. I do every lesson, and attempt to record it as close to Griff’s recording as I can (realistically), then move on to the next lesson. I feel that I’m moving at a pretty slow pace (retired hobby pace!).
...long answer to your question - I think Mark’s (sdbrit68) right, about 2-3 years!
Good luck and enjoy!

mountain man

Still got the Blues!
I can't be the only person to start and finish the course page by page? It's been a few years for this course (and many others) and I need to go back and refresh along with the many others. :Beer:

Last edited: