Anyone else shocked by Gibson's lower prices?

panther

Blues Newbie
I am a Field Engineer that works with with Automated Packaging Equipment. When we sell parts, our standard mark-up is 100% of cost. On proprietary parts and equipment,the markup is much more and has Labor and materials figured into the costs.

My company deals with manufacturers and producers of products and here where I am at it is primarily related to the Food and Pharmaceutical industry.

I guess what I'm saying is, just be happy my company doesn't make the Guitar you want, and be happy you aren't calling me in for a set-up!:eek:

Chuck;

What would you guess is the actual markup of the Les Paul Standard guitar ? My guess, OVER 100%.

Dan

Chuck

Moderator (One of the Men in Black!)
Staff member
Chuck;

What would you guess is the actual markup of the Les Paul Standard guitar ? My guess, OVER 100%.

Dan
Probably so Dan. My guess is that the MSRP probably is. Just like Kevin mentioned, once you get transportation costs and handling involved with all of the different retailers trying to get their cut, it very well could be.

jackderby52

Prehistoric blues knob (not newbie)