Starting to work on Griff's suggestion

MikeS

Student Of The Blues
Staff member
@Griff ,
I'm just beginning to work on your suggestions, but I have a question.
Why is it that when I play the D Dorian scale, up and back down, I feel like there should be one more note (C) at the end?
D_Dorian_Scale.png

Paleo

Student Of The Blues
'Cause C Major is the "parent" scale. Going to C makes is sound like you were descending the C Major scale, which you ear is probably more accustomed to, even though you started on D.

Stopping on D would sound like you were descending a D Dorian scale.

If you continued down to A it would sound like you had been playing A Aeolian.

Your ear will tend to register the last note it hears when just playing a scale.

Playing over a D chord, stopping on C wouldn't sound "right". It's the b7.

Similar to pentatonic boxes. Are they Major or minor?

Chords always win.:sneaky:

May be a blog post on the horizon?

Last edited:

Griff

Vice Assistant General Manager
Staff member
@Griff ,
I'm just beginning to work on your suggestions, but I have a question.
Why is it that when I play the D Dorian scale, up and back down, I feel like there should be one more note (C) at the end?
View attachment 11649
Yep... probably what @Paleo said, or it may be rhythmic. But remember that C Major sound is a STRONG pull... so maybe record a Dminor chord on a loop just so that you can keep your ear centered. A lot of times with modes, it helps to play the chord behind it.

MikeS

Student Of The Blues
Staff member
Yep... probably what @Paleo said, or it may be rhythmic. But remember that C Major sound is a STRONG pull... so maybe record a Dminor chord on a loop just so that you can keep your ear centered. A lot of times with modes, it helps to play the chord behind it.
Yeah, I'll definitely try recording a loop.
I don't know if besides "sounding" like it should go to C, maybe the pattern feels like it should too. The loop[ should help me figure that one out.

Paleo