Solo 3, Tendon Injuries, Solo 4, Next Steps...

dwparker

Bluesologist
Solo 3 has been a nightmare for me. While initially learning it I damaged the tendons in my fretting hand by using incorrect bending techniques while trying to play at performance speed. This happened sometime at the end of September and I really coundn't play for about a month. I started playing again sometime in November but needed to take it easy and figure out a bending technique that works for me, and I switched from 10's to 9's, and now 8's, which I really like. I also spent a lot of time reviewing earlier non-solo lessons and went ahead and did the next two lessons before solo 4.

I am now back into solo 3 and can play it at the slow speed without any serious issues, but I am REALLY hesitant to try playing it at performance speed because my bending technique starts to fall apart again at higher tempos. I realize I should just move on and that things will sort themselves out over time, but the thought of starting solo 4 after about 5 months on solo 3 and my injury just makes me want to literally smash my guitar at this point. I"m thinking of taking a break from BBU and maybe doing the strumming and rythm mastery course or something else. But maybe I just need to man up and push myself through to the end of BGU, as I am still committed to mastering the course material. Thoughts?

JPsuff

Blackstar Artist
Solo 3 has been a nightmare for me. While initially learning it I damaged the tendons in my fretting hand by using incorrect bending techniques while trying to play at performance speed. This happened sometime at the end of September and I really coundn't play for about a month. I started playing again sometime in November but needed to take it easy and figure out a bending technique that works for me, and I switched from 10's to 9's, and now 8's, which I really like. I also spent a lot of time reviewing earlier non-solo lessons and went ahead and did the next two lessons before solo 4.