Is this course over my head?

Blues_Dude

Love Dem N'Awlins Blues
Griff, I am in the middle of the Blues Unleashed course.  I am an older dude (55-FINGERS DON'T MOVE AS FAST AS THEY USE TO.) and just getting into the guitar.  I am getting the rhythm portion of the course down fairly well at what seems to be a good pace.  However, I have been having a bit of a problem getting my fingers to move as fast as the solos call for.  I was looking at your last e-mail regarding the four note solo course and am wondering if this course would be a good jump start for getting me progress for playing solos.  Its not that I can't get the licks down and memorized...just can't them up to speed.  So the question is, should I invest into yet another course?

Mr.Jay

Blues Newbie
I'm not a newbie but far from where I want to be.  And I don't have SWS scales but have a few (ok, more than a few) of Griff's other courses.  I came across your question researching to decide if I should order SWS.  From reading other posts it looks like I'll be adding it to my collection.

My personal experience: I also started guitar post 50 years of age and I've found that my fingers take a long time to get up to speed.  I got 1/2 way through BGU and put it aside for a bit as the more technically challenging solos started to lose their luster of fun.  I jumped into other courses that weren't as challenging but that amped up my fun and enthusiasm.   In particular, 5 Easy Blues Solos.  You don't need blazing speed but it keeps you moving forward.  Then I beat the crap out of the 4 note solo and loved how it was so easy to fall back onto.  It appears that SWS is taking the 4 note solo a couple more steps which is precisely where I want to go.