Another bend question

Ray_UK

Blues Newbie
It seems that the answer is obvious but as I haven't seen it in black & white anywhere and I am just starting out on bends....

If you are playing say a B at the 7th fret high e string & the TAB says 'full bend' then you are aiming to bend to a C#? In other words, are there any special rules about bending B & E since the next 'whole note' is only half a tone away?

D

devere_woods@yahoo.com

I'm not an authority on the subject, but I was taught that a full bend is a bend to the note 2 frets higher and a half step bend is a bend to the note 1 fret higher.

Ray_UK

Blues Newbie
That's what I figured DW... it was one of those thoughts that made me stop & wonder if there was something else I should know :)

TonyS

Blues Newbie
Good question.  In my opinion though only bend to the C# from the B if C# is in the key you are playing. If you are in C major or G Major, for example, the next note in the scale from the B is C, not C#.  You may find that bending to the C# makes the note sound wrong.

luckylarry

Student Of The Blues
I read somewhere that it is the 2 fret rule for a full bend and one fret for 1/2 bend and 3 frets for the bend and a half.

Cyberthrasher_706

Blues Newbie
Well, what's the actual definition of a step? Is a step the next whole note, or is it just the next fret?

I don't know about the validity of it, but here's an explanation. Where are our theory junkies when we need them?

http://www.supersonic.net/guitar/lessons/lesson-32.htm

B

b0b_b4rk3r

I think the bend is measured in Tones (Steps).....half a tone...full tone....1 1/2 tones.......so effectively 1, 2 or 3 frets respectively...... :)

Depending on which key you are in and which note you are bending you'll be trying to acheive the next 1.2 or 3 notes with the bend....so it stays within the key..... :)