I thought I'd be happy...

Status
Not open for further replies.

MikeS

Student Of The Blues
Staff member
The governor of Texas just announced that he is recommending that businesses open to 100% and he is dropping the mask mandate.

I thought that news would make me happy but, sadly, now I'm just confused about what to do.
Since I've been vaccinated, I truly believe that it really doesn't matter to me personally, but I've heard that I could still spread it.
Then, as a gigging musician I need to be aware of the possibility that my audience might feel that me not wearing a mask is putting them in danger. I don't want fans to turn against me for something as trivial as me wearing a mask (It's easy enough to wear one when off stage).

Personally I think opening up right now is premature.

If you chose to comment, please keep it nonpolitical and don't turn it into a name calling match. I'd really like your thoughts on what you would do if they said that in your area.

MarkDyson

Blues Hound Wannabe
I read that some businesses in Texas intend to continue to require masks to be on their premises. Were I resident there I'd continue to mask up and exercise all safety protocols as a personal choice. The underlying premise behind wearing one is not to protect the wearer, rather to protect those around the wearer by inhibiting the airflow of exhalations.

Now that I'm in line for vaccinations I'll be taking another look at my decisions to avoid going to my favorite brew pub on my off days, or playing in the open mic at the venue that has resumed in-person playing (with safety protocols in place). My decision was based on concern for my own safety so the re-visiting seems appropriate once I've had my jabs. I will still wear a mask and follow all protocols if I resume attendance.